Uncategorized

How to Open Yourself to a Sense of Worthiness

So often when I, the founder of my own company, meet with clients they talk to me about superficial things at first. They talk about the shape of their thighs, how they don’t like their muffin tops or think their breasts are saggy. I use the word superficial because these things really are on the surface. But I know deep down, there’s something else that’s bothering them. They don’t feel good enough. They feel like they don’t measure up and sometimes when we get a new pair of pants that don’t pinch their skin or a bra that supports their breasts in a way that’s comfortable I can tell as they look in the mirror, that for the first time in their life they believe that they can be pretty.

That’s always a huge moment for me as a founder. It’s that little seed that gets planted and I hope it grows into something far greater.

I wondered why some women feel a sense of unworthiness. I know from my experience with clients that the catalyst is sometimes divorce, sexual assault, being put down or putting themselves down. But Researcher Brene Brown says it’s something much deeper than that. She said the people who feel as though they’re worthy, have a few characteristics in common and she has six years of data to back up her hypothesis.

The pattern that emerged was connection, compassion and courage. You can view her TedTalk video here.

According to Brown, courage means that they could tell the story of who they were with their whole heart. They had the courage to be imperfect and the compassion to be kind to themselves and then others and as a result they were able to connect to people because they were authentic.

Second, they were able to be vulnerable. They embraced it. They believed that their vulnerabilities made them beautiful.

And we know that you’re vulnerable and therefore you’re beautiful. Your thighs might make you feel that way or your breasts or your stomach. You feel imperfect. You are imperfect and you’ll get to a place in your life where you can embrace it.

Now I can tell you from experience that clients feel vulnerable when they come to get help with Ruby, Inc.

They said when they first contacted us for a service that they:

“hated clothes shopping because I had hard time sorting through the racks due to my lack of fashion sense. I never learned the basics about dressing, but I have always known what look I have wanted. I went shopping with Jasmine. She was awesome! I was nervous because I thought I would annoy her with my insecurities, but she was so patient.”

They said:

“At the beginning I was a little apprehensive. I am a plus size women in my 50’s, recently through a divorce and did not have much self esteem but it was really fun for the first time in a long time to go shopping and try things on that were made in a fashion to show off my good body assets.”

But when our clients are willing to be vulnerable enough to have a personal shopping experience, well, you can read about it in their own words:

“Ruby, Inc. gives women with feelings of low self esteem or poor body image a real sense of self-worth by empowering them with the tools they need to learn how to shop for clothing that enhances who they are, making them beautiful not only on the outside, but on the inside as well.”

So you really do end up more beautiful, more confident, more self-assured just from daring to go through the process.

When you’re ready to change, we’re ready to help.

Click here for more information.

Standard

Leave a Reply

